no news in this list.

Area Classifications

The following area classifications are used in Austria to improve the explanatory power of agricultural statistics and data:

Alpine Regions of the ALP Austria Project

The Alp Austria research project (No. 1364) was initiated by the Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management together with several Austrian state governments. The project’s goal is to contribute to the protection of the country’s alpine cultural landscape by ensuring that agricultural use of land in alpine regions is suitably maintained and developed further. >

Major and Minor Agricultural Production Areas

Austria has 8 major and 87 minor agricultural production areas based on Austria’s politische Gemeinden (“political communities”). >

Geographic Agricultural Areas

Austria is furthermore divided into three geographic agricultural areas based on the NUTS-III regions. >

Austrian NUTS Classifications

NUTS (French abbr. for nomenclature des units territoriales statistiques) is a system of hierarchically organised territorial units used for statistical purposes within the EU. >